Iowa State College of Engineering dean receives national engineer of the year award

Dean Rajala wins AAES award

AMES, Iowa – Sarah Rajala, dean of the Iowa State University College of Engineering, has been named national engineer of the year by the American Association of Engineering Societies (AAES) – representing 17 multidisciplinary engineering societies from industry, government and academia. Rajala received the award on April 18 at a ceremony in Washington D.C.

The AAES national engineer of the year award recognizes Rajala’s outstanding service in three key areas:

1) inspirational leadership at the institutional, national and international levels;

2) innovations in engineering education and assessment; and 3) her tireless efforts to promote diversity in the engineering field.

Rajala joined Iowa State on April 1, 2013 from Mississippi State University where she was dean of the Bagley College of Engineering. Prior to her dean positions, she had a distinguished career as a professor, center director and served in various academic leadership positions. Rajala earned her bachelor’s degree from Michigan Technological University and master’s and Ph.D. degrees from Rice University.

The Iowa State College of Engineering is one the largest engineering programs in the country offering 12 majors and five minors to more than 9,300 students. The college is consistently ranked a top 25 engineering program at public universities.

For more information contact:

  • Sarah Rajala, dean, 515.294.9988 |
  • Ann Wilson, communications: 515.294.4881 |




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s